Key Officers

Chargé d’Affaires ad interim – Peter Kaufman 

In the absence of the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, the Chargé d’Affaires ad interim is responsible for representing the United States of America in the Republic of Belarus, conducting the Foreign Policy of the United States as well as directing, coordinating and supervising the Embassy personnel under his/her authority.

Peter Kaufman assumed charge as Chargé d’Affaires a.i. for the U.S. Mission to Belarus in June 2023.  Prior to his current assignment, he served at the U.S. Embassy in Baku from 2018-2022.  He also worked as Deputy Director of the U.S.-European Media Hub in Brussels from 2015-17, focusing on Russian-language media outreach.  His prior assignments include serving at the U.S. Mission to NATO, in the Office of Caucasus Affairs and Regional Conflicts in the State Department’s Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs, as well as overseas assignments in Moscow and Vilnius.  Originally from the New York area, Peter is married with two children.

The Defense Attaché – Bryan Shoupe 

The Defense Attaché Office (DAO) is a Department of Defense office that advises the Ambassador and Country Team on all defense and security matters and provides timely, accurate information to senior leaders on defense and security issues affecting Belarus and the region.