The President of the United States has signed a Presidential Proclamation

The President of the United States has signed a Presidential Proclamation entitled “Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Nonimmigrants of Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting 2019 Novel Coronavirus.”  The Proclamation suspends the entry of most foreign nationals who have been physically present in any of the countries listed below at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the United States:


Islamic Republic of Iran, People’s Republic of China, (excluding the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau), “Schengen Area” European countries, which include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.,


If you reside in or have recently traveled to any of these countries, of if you plan to visit one of them before your planned trip to the United States, we strongly encourage you to postpone your visa interview appointment or, if you have already been issued a visa, postpone your trip to the United States until 14 days subsequent to your departure from any of the countries sited in the Proclamation.


There is no fee to change an appointment.  For questions about rescheduling a pending consular appointment, please see our website


Please note that the Presidential Proclamation does not apply to U.S. citizens, legal permanent residents and their immediate family members.