U.S. Government Imposes Sanctions on Supporters of Russia’s Occupation of Crimea and Forcible Control of Eastern Ukraine

Today, the United States imposed financial sanctions on three individuals and nine entities that are supporting Russia’s attempt to integrate Crimea region of Ukraine through private investment and privatization projects or those that are engaging in serious human rights abuses in furtherance of Russia’s occupation or control over parts of Ukraine.

The sanctioned individuals are Andriy Volodymyrovych Sushko, Aleksandr Basov, and Vladimir Nikolaevich Zaritsky. The sanctioned entities are the Ministry of State Security of so-called Luhansk People’s Republic, Mriya Resort and Spa, Limited Liability Company Garant-SV, Limited Liability Company Infrastructure Projects Management Company, Joint Stock Company Sanatorium AY-Petri, Joint Stock Company Dyulber, Joint Stock Company Sanatorium Miskhor, KRIMTETS, AO, and Limited Liability Company Southern Project.

As a result of today’s announcement, all of these individuals’ and entities’ property and interests in property subject to the U.S. jurisdiction are blocked, and U.S. individuals and entities are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions with them.

Today’s action reinforces the Crimea Declaration of July 25, 2018, stating that the United Sates does not and will not recognize Russia’s purported annexation of Crimea. The designations underscore the United States’ steadfast partnership with Ukraine and the European Union in unified opposition to Russia’s illegal purported annexation and occupation of Crimea and use of force to control parts of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Eastern Ukraine.

For further information, please see the Department of Treasury’s press release available here.

Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
November 8, 2018